1st Thursday each month
12:15pm - 1:15pm at
The Parenting Center
2928 West Fifth Street
Fort Worth, Texas

Information: info@tcsaac.org
Website: tech@tcsaac.org
TCSAAC Conference
Annual TCSAAC ConferenceExecutive BoardCommitteesGet Involved

2018 Annual TCSAAC Conference

Friday, April 6, 2018

Lena Pope Home

3200 Sanguinet Street

Fort Worth, TX 76107

Click Here to REGISTER NOW

Keynote Speaker: Monika Korra. In 2009, Monika Kørra, a student athlete at SMU, was abducted by three men while leaving a party in Old East Dallas. She was robbed, raped, and dumped in Fair Park. But Monika refused to be a victim. She went public with her story in order to eradicate the silence and shame often associated with rape. In her book, Kill the Silence: A Survivor’s Life Reclaimed, she writes about what happened immediately after the attack.

She will be providing the keynote presentation on Friday morning as well as a workshop in the afternoon. Other breakout sessions for this year’s conference include: Case Studies, Human Trafficking, Ethics, and more.

CEU certificates will be available for psychologists/PhD, LPC, LCSW, LMFT, and LSOTP licenses after the last workshop. If you do not need CEU's, you will be able to receive a Certificate of Attendance.


Each year, TCSAAC honors a professional who distinguishes himself/herself as a passionate defender of victims of sexual abuse. Such service on behalf of victims includes: increasing public awareness, assisting other service professionals, providing treatment for victims, lobbying for legislative changes on behalf of victims and helping victims of sexual abuse receive fair treatment in the judicial process.

Download the nomination form here
Nomination submissions are due by March 20, 2018

Previous Mitch Poe Award Recipients

   2017: Birdville Independent School District

   2016: LaTasha Jackson-McDougle - Case Manager for the RISE program and Tarrant County CSCD. She is a tireless advocate on behalf of victims of domestic violence. She heads the orgainziation, Cheryl's Voice, in honor of her mother, which offers education, intervention, and advocacy on behalf of victims. In connection with their physical abuse, many of those victims were also sexually abused and trafficked. The RISE program was created in 2011, which is for women who have experienced significant sexual trauma and who have frequently been ushered into a life of prostitution. They are also identified as suffering from mental illness and drug addiction. The RISE program represents possibly their last chance to recover from the trauma suffered at the hands of others. The success of the RISE program is in large part a direct result of Ms. Jackson-McDougle's exemplary work.

   2015: Sexual Assault Nurse Examiners (SANE) - These dedicated nurses at John Peter Smith Hospital have advanced education and instruction in medical forensic examination and in psychological and emotional trauma. SANE nurses may also provide expert testimony in a court of law. These SANE nurses are dedicated to providing comprehensive, compassionate care in a safe and private environment.

   2013: Alana Minton - Chief Prosecutor of the Crimes Against Children Unit in the Tarrant County District Attorney’s Office. She has worked for the Tarrant County District Attorney’s Office since 1997, holding her current position since 2007. She has dedicated her career to protecting children and all those effected by sexual abuse. She works tirelessly in training and supporting an excellent staff who share her passion for helping victims and ensuring that victims have rights. This person has provided valuable information during past workshops and continually goes over and above to help the community.

   2012: Sheila B. Johnson - She is an outstanding member of the community whose name is synonymous with victims’ rights and protecting children. If there is something that has happened in the field of protecting children or advocating for rights of victims, this person has likely been instrumental in it. She is committed to Justice for Children and Changing the Lives of Children. She is always willing to be hands-on and do whatever is needed to help the community. She invests much of her time and expertise to help the community and advocate for the care of children and families in Tarrant County. She has worked a lifetime creating organizations, such as the Alliance for Children. She is the past Chair of the Tarrant County CPS Board. She is the secretary of the Amon G. Carter Foundation Board of Directors. She and her foundation have continually provided funding to multiple agencies to help with research and protecting children and families.

   2011: David Montague - Former prosecutor for the Tarrant County District Attorney's Office.

   2010: Rona Stratton-Smith and Lisa Gabbert - Stemming from the murder of Rona’s sister and Lisa’s rape, the two have managed to turn tragedy into a movement for change and triumph – not only in their own case but in the state and nation. Their journey, self admittedly, only has an end when there are no more sexually violent predators. This is a journey they willingly make through agencies, courts, and legislative sessions. They made the declared shift from victim to more than merely survivors – to forces to be reckoned with in Texas.

   2009: Bubba Schafer - In 2002, he was credited for apprehending a serial rapist, Manuel Salamanca, Jr. The police in Arlington, Cleburne, Burleson, and Benbrook had been looking for the rapist for six years after being linked to nine rapes. Salamanca Jr. was then convicted and sentenced to two life sentences. Bubba has since dedicated his life to helping victims of abuse.

   2008: Mitch Poe - Tarrant County District Attorney for whom this award was named after. Mr. Poe was instrumental in advocating for victims' rights.